Research Databases

A B C D E F G H K L M N O P R S T W
List of research database titles, descriptions and links
about:books

about:books

Information about books and authors.

Use this resource
Screenshot of African American Heritage database

African American Heritage

Search records exclusively devoted to African American family history

Use this resource
Screenshot of American and English Full Text Literature Collection

American and English Full Text Literature Collection

Access electronic versions of many titles of American and English literature, including poetry, drama, fiction and the Bible.

Use this resource
Ancestry Library edition screenshot

Ancestry Library Edition

(In-library use only) U. S. Census records; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; petitions for naturalization; passenger lists and more. You must be in the library to access this database.

Use this resource
Screenshot of Biography Reference Bank

Biography Reference Bank

Access biographical information on hundreds of thousands of people from throughout history and around the world.

Use this resource
Screenshot of Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier

Research company and industry profiles.  Access country and market research reports and magazine articles.

Use this resource
Chilton logo with a wrench above a car

Chilton Library

Diagnostics, maintenance schedules, wiring diagrams, and step-by-step repair procedures for vehicles

Use this resource
Screenshot of Cleveland Necrology File

Cleveland Necrology File

Local cemetery records and newspaper death notices for the following years: 1833, 1847-1848, 1850-1975

Use this resource
Screenshot of Cleveland News Index

Cleveland News Index

Citation only information for local news stories, feature articles and reviews from The Cleveland Plain Dealer (1983-June 1999), Cleveland Magazine (1983-2014), Northern Ohio Live (Sept. 1990-June 2009),  and Ohio Magazine (Oct. 1990-2014).

Citation only information for death notices and obituaries from The Cleveland Plain Dealer (1976-2014) and The Cleveland Press (1976-1982).

 

Use this resource
Screenshot of Consumer Health Complete

Consumer Health Complete

Browse medical, health, and drug reference books.  Read articles on health and fitness.  Find alternative health information.  

Use this resource
Consumer Reports logo banner

Consumer Reports

Product evaluations, legal decisions that affect consumers, and articles on public safety and health

Use this resource
Screenshot of Cypress Resume Builder

Cypress Resume

Create a professional quality resume in three steps with this online resume builder.

Use this resource
Driving test

Driving-Tests.org

Take practice tests for car, motorcycle, and commercial driver's licenses.  Tests can be accessed from any computer or mobile device.  In addition, there are official Ohio driver's manuals and a DMV office finder.  

Use this resource
Screenshot of Early World of Learning

Early World of Learning

Experience interactive learning environments--including stories, songs, games, and videos--for preschool and children in early grades.

Use this resource
Screenshot of EBSCOhost

EBSCOhost

Search thousands of magazines, academic journals, newspapers, reference books, photos and maps on millions of topics.

Use this resource
Screenshot of Explora Primary

Explora Primary Schools

Look up facts for homework or class projects in a trustworthy environment for students and educators gardes K through 5.

Use this resource
Screenshot of Explora Secondary

Explora Secondary Schools

Find facts for class projects or homework in a trustworthy environment for students and educators in grades 6 through 12. 

Use this resource
Screenshot of Fold3

Fold3

Discover your family's military past with a premier collection of  U.S. military records, stories, photos, and personal documents.

Use this resource
Screenshot of Gale Legal Forms

Gale Legal Forms

Thousands of legal forms--including state-specific, federal, business, personal, real estate, and general forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.

 

Use this resource
Screenshot of Heritage Quest

HeritageQuest

Search census records, books, serials, and other historical records to trace your genealogy.

Use this resource
Screenshot of Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center

Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center

Find "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually any hobby enthusiast.

Use this resource
Home Improvement Reference Center

Home Improvement Reference Center

Find full-text content from leading home improvement magazines and videos of popular home repair projects.

Use this resource
Screenshot of Kids InfoBits

Kids InfoBits

Explore an easy-to-use digital resource featuring age-appropriate, reliable, curriculum-related content covering a broad range of educational topics. The modern design and simple navigation make it easy for users to explore content and gain comfort with database searching.

Use this resource
Screenshot of Literary Reference

Literary Reference Center

Research a literary movement, author, novel, or poem for school, book discussions, or personal interest.

Use this resource
Man on computer

Lynda.com from LinkedIn

Take self-directed online courses for technology, business, and creative skills.  Video courses are taught by industry experts and help you stay ahead in your current job or change careers.

Use this resource
Screenshot of Morningstar Investment Research Center

Morningstar Investment Research Center

Independent research and recommendations on thousands of stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds. User-friendly format and an investment education section.

Use this resource
Screenshot of Novelist K-8

Novelist K-8 Plus

Helps children, librarians, teachers, and parents find fiction and non-fiction books for kids in grades K-8.  Includes book discussion guides, thematic booklists, and read-alikes.

Use this resource
Screenshot of Novelist Plus

Novelist Plus

Helps readers of all ages find fiction and non-fiction books to enjoy.  Includes book discussion guides, thematic booklists, and read-alikes.

Use this resource
Screenshot of NuWav Legal Documents

NuWav Legal Documents

Create professional-quality legal documents in three steps with this online tool.

Use this resource
Screenshot of Oxford Research Encyclopedias

Oxford Research Encyclopedias

Research reference content in humanities, social science, and science.

Use this resource
Screenshot of Points of View Reference Center

Points of View Reference Center

Develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills by researching multiple sides of an issue.

Use this resource
Screenshot of Reference USA

Reference USA

Directory information for millions of U. S. and Canadian businesses and households.  

Use this resource
Screenshot of Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps

Find large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Locate and identify buildings and neighborhoods. Study the growth of towns and cities and the impact of new development

Use this resource
Screenshot of Science Reference Center

Science Reference Center

Access full-text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources.

Use this resource
Screenshot of Small Business Reference Center

Small Business Reference Center

Access the full text of many top consumer small business reference books, business videos, and assistance with business plan creation. 

Use this resource
Screenshot of Transparent Language Online

Transparent Language Online

Learn a new language.  Over one hundred foreign language courses are available.

Use this resource
Screenshot of What Tree is It?

What Tree is It?

Identify Ohio trees using name, fruit, and/or leaf.

Use this resource
Screenshot of What's That Snake

What's That Snake?

Identify Ohio snakes

Use this resource
Screenshot of What's the Point?

What's the Point?

Identify flint artifacts.  

Use this resource
Screenshot of World Book

World Book

Access multimedia World Book Encyclopedia resources for pre-k through college

Use this resource
Screenshot of World Book Timeline

World Book Timeline

Build and share timelines using your own events and images or content from World Book

Use this resource
Screenshot of WorldCat

WorldCat

World's most comprehensive bibliography with 40 million records representing 400 languages, covering information back to the 11th century.

Use this resource